Pride and Prejudice: The Jewess and the Gentile

Pride and Prejudice: The Jewess and the Gentile

2.0 out of 5 stars Unapproachable, hard to enter into and identify
with for me…
,

Pride and Prejudice: The Jewess and the Gentile (Kindle Edition) I
received a complimentary copy of Pride and Prejudice: The Jewess and the Gentile
by Lev Raphael for the purpose of publishing a 750 word critical review
on-line.

I read 12 chapters and had to put it down because it was not
working for me whatsoever. Let me try and explain:
1. it is what I would describe as a “plagiarized paraphrase” of Jane Austen’s Pride and
Prejudice.
2. Most of the references to Judaism would not be understandable
for most Gentile readers.
3. After 12 chapters the Bennet’s “Jewishness”
seemingly had not made a single impact or deviation in Austen’s original plot
line.

This renders the text so narrowly focused that only Jewish readers
or Gentiles intimately connected to Jewish communities would even remotely
comprehend the Jewish references throughout. It is all but unapproachable for
me. A reader must be able to “enter” into the experience and I predict many will
not be able to. I have read Pride and Prejudice several times so why would I
want to read an imitation when I can read the genuine article?

I have investigated Lev Raphael’s other works and he is obviously a wonderful author.
However, in this work I must ask “What’s the point?”

Leave a Reply

