Fitzwilliam Ebenezer Darcy, by Barbara Tiller Cole: A Review

Fitzwilliam Ebenezer Darcy: 'Pride and Prejudice' meets 'A Christmas Carol'

2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but seems amateurish, unpolished, mawkish, cliched…

Fitzwilliam Ebenezer Darcy: ‘Pride and Prejudice’ meets ‘A Christmas Carol’
(Paperback)

Am I and my fellow reviewers here reading the same
novelette? I temporarily suspended my reading at page 11 and wanted to put it
down right there. However, I mercifully figured this offering deserved its “day
in court” so I struggled to finish it and it almost finished me. How many times
and ways did I have to read Mr. Darcy needed a bath? Once is humor; a dozen
times is over-kill. I found the writing style confusing and awkward. The
language seemed to lack polish and creative originality. In the dialogues, I
often couldn’t figure out who was talking to whom. Can the print size in a
publication be SO LARGE as to render it difficult to read? Little tiny book –
enormously oversized type face! Why? I’m pleased that others found it to their
liking and I appreciate the effort that goes into creating a piece of fiction,
AND I like to give the benefit of the doubt, but it simply wasn’t up to my
peculiar set of standards.

Leave a Reply

